2019 Speakers

Keynote Address

The Honorable Ralph S. Northam, Governor of Virginia

Members of the Virginia General Assembly

Delegate Alfonso H. Lopez

Delegate Rip Sullivan

State Senator Jennifer McClellan

Delegate Glenn Davis

Keynote Address

"Virginia's Clean Energy Potential"

Claire Broido Johnson

Claire is a senior operations executive and entrepreneur with a proven track record in creating and managing successful businesses and products, and fixing and building businesses and divisions within companies, particularly in the clean energy space. She founded SunEdison in 2003 with Jigar Shah, which grew to the world’s largest solar energy services provider with a $10 billion market cap and 7200 employees by 2015. 


Claire was asked to join the Department of Energy as Energy Efficiency Advisor to Secretary Steven Chu, then given responsibility to manage the Office of Weatherization and Intergovernmental Programs in 2009-2010 ($11 billion deployment). 


Currently, Claire is President of CBJ Energy, a financing and operations services company developing and managing divisions and projects for energy companies and beyond.

The University System of Maryland recently announced that Claire will be overseeing the $10 million Maryland Momentum Fund that was launched in 2016 to enable USM to invest in and support promising commercial opportunities coming from research and intellectual property at its campuses.


Claire earned her BA and MBA from Harvard University and is a long-time resident of Baltimore, Maryland where she serves on numerous local boards. 

Plenary and Breakout Session Speakers

Abby Johnson

Executive Director

Virginia PACE Authority

Ben Saunders

Senior Permitting Project Manager


Brad Nowak


Williams Mullen

Cathy Lin

Energy Manager and Stormwater Program Administrator

Arlington Public Schools

Chris Bast

Chief Deputy

Department of Environmental Quality

Cody Nystrom

Managing Director

SJF Ventures

David Farnsworth


Regulatory Assistance Project

Eric Coffman

Chief of the Office of Energy and Sustainability

Montgomery County Department of General Services, Maryland

Hannah Coman

Staff Attorney

Southern Environmental Law Center

Jessa Coleman

Program Manager

PACE Financial Servicing

Joe Woomer

Vice President–Grid and Technical Solutions

Dominion Energy

Jonah Fogel

Program Manager

Environmental Resilience Institute at the University of Virginia

Kate Staples

Manager, Electrification

Dominion Energy Virginia

Kenley Farmer

Associate Director

Affordability and Efficiency Division, Department of Energy and Environment

Lesley Crowther Fore

Senior Consultant

Richmond Region Energy Alliance

Matt Waring

Technical Director


Neeharika Naik-Dhungel

Program Manager, CHP Partnership Program

Environmental Protection Agency

Paul Alvarez


Wired Group

Robert W. Lazaro, Jr.

Executive Director

Northern Virginia Regional Commission

Scott Sklar

Founder, President

The Stella Group, Ltd.

Steve Hauser

Chief Executive Officer

Gridwise Alliance

Tyson Utt

Vice President of Development, East

Apex Clean Energy

Annie Gilleo

Senior Manager of State Policy

American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy

Bill Greenleaf

Manager, Clean Energy and Real Estate Lending

Virginia Community Capital

Brian Parrish

President, CEO

Electrical & Lighting Solutions, Inc.

Chase Counts

Director of Utility Programs

Community Housing Partners

Chris Dellinger

Developer, Public Private Partnerships

Schneider Electric Energy & Sustainability Services

Cyrus Bhedwar

Policy Director

Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance

Derek Wenger

Manager, New Technology and Renewable Programs Power Delivery Group

Dominion Energy

Eric Oliver


Earthwide, LLC

Jay Fisette

Managing Partner

DMV Strategic Advisors, LLC

Jessica Shipley

Senior Associate

Regulatory Assistance Program

John Morrill

Energy Manager

Arlington County

Jonathon Monken

Senior Director

System Resiliency and Strategic Coordination in the ITS Division of PJM Interconnection

Katharine Kollins


Southeastern Wind Coalition

L. Preston Bryant, Jr.

Senior Vice President

McGuireWoods Consuting, LLC

Marco Rubin

Senior Investment Director

Center for Innovative Technology (CIT)

Michael Hubbard

Manager, Energy Conservation

Dominion Energy

Nell Boyle

Sustainability Coordinator

City of Roanoke

Philip Agee

Assistant Professor

Virginia Tech

S. Kris Sieber

Manager of Member Services

Rappahannock Electric Cooperative

Sean Evensen-Shanley

Director of Residential Operations


Steve Morgan


Clean Energy Solutions

Vivian Seay Giles



Becky Campbell

Manager, Government Affairs

First Solar

Bracken Hendricks

Chief Executive Officer

Urban Ingenuity

Cassandra Ceballos

Program Assistant

Climate Interactive

Chelsea Harnish

Executive Director

Virginia Energy Efficiency Council

Cliona Robb


Thompson McMullan, P.C.

Dan Farrell

Program Manager

Division of Energy at Virginia’s Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy

Elisa Wood

Co-Founder, Editor in Chief

Microgrid Knowledge

Greg Montgomery

Managing Director

CleanSource Capital

Jenny Briot

Director, Offshore Business Development

Avangrid Renewables

Jim Kapsis


The Ad Hoc Group

Jon Miles

Executive Director

Office for the Advancement of Sustainable Energy at James Madison University

Karla Loeb

Chief Policy & Development Officer

Sigora Solar

Kathy Magruder

Executive Director

Maryland Clean Energy Center

Leigh Anne Ratliff

Account Executive


Marcy Bauer

Director of Program Operations


Mike Derzko

Director, Business Development


Nick DiFerdinando

Industrial Development Manager

Sun Tribe Solar

Robert Johnson

Senior Vice President, Public Sector Investments

Hannon Armstrong

Scott Dicke


Virginia C-PACE Programs, SRS

Stephen Evanko

Managing Director of Energy and Sustainability

Dominion Due Diligence Group

Thad Culley

Regional Director

Vote Solar

Zach Kahn

Director of Government Relations

BYD North America


© 2020 by the Co-Hosts: VA-REA, VAAEE, VAEEC, DMME, DEQ, CHP, MDV-SEIA